[MOD] Conquest and War in Rebirth! Release Version 1.60 10-30-2016

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X Rebirth.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

JDD79
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon, 17. Aug 15, 18:17

Re: Feedbac on0.9h

Post by JDD79 » Wed, 2. Mar 16, 16:19

BlackRain wrote:
VincentTH wrote:@BlackRain

So I start Terran Commander with 0.9g+4.0+TO (no HoL), then a few hours of game time later, upgraded to 0.9h.

Here are my feedbacks:

Difficulty = Hard.
FPS remains at 50+, but occasionally, dipped to low 20s, at which time, a save and reload fixes the FPS.
I notice that at Hard difficulty, HOA only sent 1 lone Arawn to take TBE, and that does not seem to be enough. (Previously, the script sent 2 fully equipped Arawn squads + Balors). I am now at 803-09-21 12:04 game time (36 hours have passed since start), and HOA cannot take out the defending Taranis yet, let alone the station.
Xenon activities in OL and DV do not seen to change much compared to 0.9f, with I's escorted with 2 Ks, overwhelming the poor Canterans.

I now shelve that game, and test the Entrepeneur Start at Very Hard difficulty. If you need a save game to look at the balance, please let me know.
I noticed that most of the military ships were not spawning right away. The suppression script triggers after a couple minutes which turns the spawns on but I think because there are so many ships spawning with HOL and Teladi DLC that it may not be spawning them. The suppression script isn't triggered again until a few hours later. I didn't have time to fully test so I'm not sure if all fleets are spawning as they should at some point. If you don't mind testing try playing with the job suppression script by changing the time interval at the top of the file. See if HOA spawns fleets.
0.9h basic jobs are spawning, but it needs some time.

I'm editing 0.9h jobs since BR uploaded it.
I know that BR hasn't the time to adjust every single fleet and squadron for every single zone at the moment. So I started to give current jobs a total overaul and that for every single ship. It's a pain in arse work if you really want to go into detail under conditions to keep balance and realism for the factions as well as to have an eye on performance.

I'll report back after I'm happy with the tweaked jobs and a couple of ours testing.

BlackRain
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 7411
Joined: Mon, 15. Dec 03, 18:53
x4

Re: Feedbac on0.9h

Post by BlackRain » Wed, 2. Mar 16, 17:20

JDD79 wrote:
BlackRain wrote:
VincentTH wrote:@BlackRain

So I start Terran Commander with 0.9g+4.0+TO (no HoL), then a few hours of game time later, upgraded to 0.9h.

Here are my feedbacks:

Difficulty = Hard.
FPS remains at 50+, but occasionally, dipped to low 20s, at which time, a save and reload fixes the FPS.
I notice that at Hard difficulty, HOA only sent 1 lone Arawn to take TBE, and that does not seem to be enough. (Previously, the script sent 2 fully equipped Arawn squads + Balors). I am now at 803-09-21 12:04 game time (36 hours have passed since start), and HOA cannot take out the defending Taranis yet, let alone the station.
Xenon activities in OL and DV do not seen to change much compared to 0.9f, with I's escorted with 2 Ks, overwhelming the poor Canterans.

I now shelve that game, and test the Entrepeneur Start at Very Hard difficulty. If you need a save game to look at the balance, please let me know.
I noticed that most of the military ships were not spawning right away. The suppression script triggers after a couple minutes which turns the spawns on but I think because there are so many ships spawning with HOL and Teladi DLC that it may not be spawning them. The suppression script isn't triggered again until a few hours later. I didn't have time to fully test so I'm not sure if all fleets are spawning as they should at some point. If you don't mind testing try playing with the job suppression script by changing the time interval at the top of the file. See if HOA spawns fleets.
0.9h basic jobs are spawning, but it needs some time.

I'm editing 0.9h jobs since BR uploaded it.
I know that BR hasn't the time to adjust every single fleet and squadron for every single zone at the moment. So I started to give current jobs a total overaul and that for every single ship. It's a pain in arse work if you really want to go into detail under conditions to keep balance and realism for the factions as well as to have an eye on performance.

I'll report back after I'm happy with the tweaked jobs and a couple of ours testing.
Yes it is actually quite powerful what can be done with jobs and my scripts (like the job suppression script) but it is very time consuming and repetitive work which makes it a chore. I could do so much with it if I had the time. It allows for a lot of minute fine tuning.

User avatar
Marvin Martian
Posts: 3548
Joined: Sun, 8. Apr 12, 09:40
x4

Post by Marvin Martian » Wed, 2. Mar 16, 18:13

Just a question about the jobhandling

why not organize defence/attack fleets over <location faction/> like

Code: Select all

  <job id="hoa_defence" name="Defence">
    <expirationtime min="86400" max="259200"/>
    <task task="move.patrol"/>
    <quota cluster="10" zone="1"/>
    <location class="sector" macro="cluster_d_sector18_macro" faction="heartofalbion"/>
    <ship ref="hoa_heavy_fighter"/>
  </job>

  <job id="hoa_attack" name="Attack">
    <expirationtime min="86400" max="259200"/>
    <task task="move.patrol"/>
    <quota sector="20" zone="2"/>
    <location class="sector" macro="cluster_d_sector18_macro" faction="plutarch"/>
    <ship ref="hoa_heavy_fighter"/>
  </job>
depending on faction strengh/difficult you could add/disable similar jobs

and for logic movement maybe

Code: Select all

<environment zone="" gate="" spawninsector="" spawnoutofsector="" chancedocked=""/>
seems usefull to me, don't know if you can define a spezific (start) gate/zone_macro or only use 1 or 0

BlackRain
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 7411
Joined: Mon, 15. Dec 03, 18:53
x4

Post by BlackRain » Wed, 2. Mar 16, 19:15

Marvin Martian wrote:Just a question about the jobhandling

why not organize defence/attack fleets over <location faction/> like

Code: Select all

  <job id="hoa_defence" name="Defence">
    <expirationtime min="86400" max="259200"/>
    <task task="move.patrol"/>
    <quota cluster="10" zone="1"/>
    <location class="sector" macro="cluster_d_sector18_macro" faction="heartofalbion"/>
    <ship ref="hoa_heavy_fighter"/>
  </job>

  <job id="hoa_attack" name="Attack">
    <expirationtime min="86400" max="259200"/>
    <task task="move.patrol"/>
    <quota sector="20" zone="2"/>
    <location class="sector" macro="cluster_d_sector18_macro" faction="plutarch"/>
    <ship ref="hoa_heavy_fighter"/>
  </job>
depending on faction strengh/difficult you could add/disable similar jobs

and for logic movement maybe

Code: Select all

<environment zone="" gate="" spawninsector="" spawnoutofsector="" chancedocked=""/>
seems usefull to me, don't know if you can define a spezific (start) gate/zone_macro or only use 1 or 0

How exactly would this way benefit me other than time? It seems much more generic and random than the way I currently do it. I can fine tune as much as I want currently given time. If I wanted to do it any other way I could just do it the way that conquer mod did it, by spawning fleets and such. The reason we decided to go a different way is because the current way I do jobs gives much more control. Perhaps I am wrong though?

JDD79
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon, 17. Aug 15, 18:17

Post by JDD79 » Thu, 3. Mar 16, 03:05

BlackRain wrote:
Marvin Martian wrote:Just a question about the jobhandling

why not organize defence/attack fleets over <location faction/> like

Code: Select all

  <job id="hoa_defence" name="Defence">
    <expirationtime min="86400" max="259200"/>
    <task task="move.patrol"/>
    <quota cluster="10" zone="1"/>
    <location class="sector" macro="cluster_d_sector18_macro" faction="heartofalbion"/>
    <ship ref="hoa_heavy_fighter"/>
  </job>

  <job id="hoa_attack" name="Attack">
    <expirationtime min="86400" max="259200"/>
    <task task="move.patrol"/>
    <quota sector="20" zone="2"/>
    <location class="sector" macro="cluster_d_sector18_macro" faction="plutarch"/>
    <ship ref="hoa_heavy_fighter"/>
  </job>
depending on faction strengh/difficult you could add/disable similar jobs

and for logic movement maybe

Code: Select all

<environment zone="" gate="" spawninsector="" spawnoutofsector="" chancedocked=""/>
seems usefull to me, don't know if you can define a spezific (start) gate/zone_macro or only use 1 or 0

How exactly would this way benefit me other than time? It seems much more generic and random than the way I currently do it. I can fine tune as much as I want currently given time. If I wanted to do it any other way I could just do it the way that conquer mod did it, by spawning fleets and such. The reason we decided to go a different way is because the current way I do jobs gives much more control. Perhaps I am wrong though?
I'm a newbie to this and it took me 3 days to study BR's job file. I'm now able to create very detailed scenarios for each conflict among the factions. I do agree, basically you have a lot of control to play around with jobs. This is a good example to show that BR did a lot of good things here.

The only time consuming factor is your mind and philosophy. How deep do you want to adjust everything to reach a perfect gaming experience. It means perfect interval timing, reasonable escort strenghts and the ability to look ahead for consequences. One single change can take so much influence in the entire balance. I never thought it could take so much time, but it's fun to dive into this world.

Greetings

reanor
Posts: 804
Joined: Thu, 23. Oct 03, 01:39
x4

Post by reanor » Thu, 3. Mar 16, 21:19

Sounds exciting, finally decided to give this a go, otherwise game is boring and I have billions to spend. Will be installing this mod tonight, can't wait. BTW, is station boarding implemented yet?
“The dark and the light, they exist side by side." ... “It is often in the darkest skies that we see the brightest stars."

BlackRain
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 7411
Joined: Mon, 15. Dec 03, 18:53
x4

Post by BlackRain » Thu, 3. Mar 16, 23:00

reanor wrote:Sounds exciting, finally decided to give this a go, otherwise game is boring and I have billions to spend. Will be installing this mod tonight, can't wait. BTW, is station boarding implemented yet?

Not yet. Look forward to station boarding and npc station construction soon though.

kaalund
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed, 16. Jun 10, 08:45
x4

Post by kaalund » Fri, 4. Mar 16, 00:35

cant download the lastest update :(

VincentTH
Posts: 6629
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 20:31
x4

Post by VincentTH » Fri, 4. Mar 16, 00:38

kaalund wrote:cant download the lastest update :(
I just tried it, worked fine for me!!!!

kaalund
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed, 16. Jun 10, 08:45
x4

Post by kaalund » Fri, 4. Mar 16, 00:48

year my bad... apparently addblocker blocks the download

JDD79
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon, 17. Aug 15, 18:17

Post by JDD79 » Fri, 4. Mar 16, 01:14

Hi BR,

I have a question concerning the amount of minerals in zones. I noticed that ressources going down pretty fast. Lonely Giant 490/500K within few minutes in game. I mean wtf? I'm a bit afraid that ressources going down too fast which could mess up a good game. To be honest I have not noticed this fast going down before. Is this something you are aware of? Are they respawning? Is it possible to edit ressources for zones? I'm a bit lost.

Greetings

reanor
Posts: 804
Joined: Thu, 23. Oct 03, 01:39
x4

Post by reanor » Fri, 4. Mar 16, 01:28

Looks like 10K used out of 500K, so about an hour to mine everything.
“The dark and the light, they exist side by side." ... “It is often in the darkest skies that we see the brightest stars."

pref
Posts: 5612
Joined: Sat, 10. Nov 12, 17:55
x4

Post by pref » Fri, 4. Mar 16, 01:58

A single miner can hold like 15k ore, 10k can easily be collected in few mins.
Resources replenish at a high rate, so dont worry about that.

reanor
Posts: 804
Joined: Thu, 23. Oct 03, 01:39
x4

Post by reanor » Fri, 4. Mar 16, 04:05

"Warning, unknown enemy force detected by one of our units."

I get these pretty much none-stop... is that by design? I have quite a few trading ships zooming around. Are the new enemy ships coming in none-stop? Or my ships just keep buzzing about any enemy they see on scanner?
“The dark and the light, they exist side by side." ... “It is often in the darkest skies that we see the brightest stars."

VincentTH
Posts: 6629
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 20:31
x4

Post by VincentTH » Fri, 4. Mar 16, 04:12

reanor wrote:"Warning, unknown enemy force detected by one of our units."

I get these pretty much none-stop... is that by design? I have quite a few trading ships zooming around. Are the new enemy ships coming in none-stop? Or my ships just keep buzzing about any enemy they see on scanner?
It's by design, but you can customize the frequency of those messages in the file CM_Config.xml

Personally, I like to have them, in order to defend my stations.

reanor
Posts: 804
Joined: Thu, 23. Oct 03, 01:39
x4

Post by reanor » Fri, 4. Mar 16, 05:06

Yeah, the problem is that my trader ships yell even if they see a single fighter in the zone they pass. I literally get these nonestop, its crazy. :D I'll check the file.
---
Hmm, the file says - 120s, thats 2 minutes interval. How is this interval calculated? My messages pop way more often than that. I have about 8 stations, each has multiple trade ships, they fly into all kind of different areas (Galaxy Range Mod). I get notification about enemy forces even if trade ship passing by and sees a single fighter. Changed to 180s, see if that will help.
---
Adjusting to 180s and restarting helped.
“The dark and the light, they exist side by side." ... “It is often in the darkest skies that we see the brightest stars."

reanor
Posts: 804
Joined: Thu, 23. Oct 03, 01:39
x4

Post by reanor » Fri, 4. Mar 16, 07:42

Have a few questions about this mod based on the things I've seen in a file:

- How do I build an outpost, what are prerequisites (enemy stations and ships in the system need to be destroyed and then the CV will spawn?).
- How do I build a shipyard? I checked CV in HoL and it didn't have a shipyard in the list.
- How does invasion and retaliation works, is it only AI function? How often they retaliate?

Is there any more detailed info on how this mod works?
“The dark and the light, they exist side by side." ... “It is often in the darkest skies that we see the brightest stars."

Meme Turtle
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu, 27. Nov 14, 16:33

Post by Meme Turtle » Fri, 4. Mar 16, 11:29

I have a small question: why do I have to pay for ships, built at my own shipyard? Or how should I generate money without trading?

I am currently building a self-sufficient factories chain, however even if I can obtain all the necessary resources for ship production, I still need money to buy ships and hire personal. If I decide to go full scale war with all factions, I will not be able to earn any money via trading or doing missions. So, is it possible in this mod to become truly independent of all factions and capture all sectors?

BlackRain
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 7411
Joined: Mon, 15. Dec 03, 18:53
x4

Post by BlackRain » Fri, 4. Mar 16, 11:51

matveich[EG] wrote:I have a small question: why do I have to pay for ships, built at my own shipyard? Or how should I generate money without trading?

I am currently building a self-sufficient factories chain, however even if I can obtain all the necessary resources for ship production, I still need money to buy ships and hire personal. If I decide to go full scale war with all factions, I will not be able to earn any money via trading or doing missions. So, is it possible in this mod to become truly independent of all factions and capture all sectors?
You don't have to pay for ships you build at your shipyard. It appears that you do but it won't take your money so don't worry. Also, you can make money by selling ships you make to your own shipyard for a profit. Another way to make money is through taxes. When you own a zone and have stations in it, both yours and npc stations, you get taxes every hour or so.

desan77332
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri, 4. Mar 16, 12:04

Post by desan77332 » Fri, 4. Mar 16, 12:36

Hi, thank you for your mod, and sorry for my bad english. I have a question about new ships which have been added with mod. Argon missile cruiser "Harpy" i believe, is one of added ships?

Post Reply

Return to “X Rebirth - Scripts and Modding”