Help Designing Ships In 3ds

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X²: The Threat.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

saiien
x3

Help Designing Ships In 3ds

Post by saiien » Tue, 26. Oct 04, 03:11

Hello Everybody I have tried to design a lot off ships in 3dsMax and they
look realy great on the drawing board but when i try to export it to the game i can't se my new ship or i get diffrent sort of things flying arround ?

Now: i have read all the treads in here and in the Germans Site and the tutorials in here is a bit out dated in my Understanding i have been reading "how to understand a scene file" and so on a little help but im not a programmer!!.

My Question is.

WHY wont Anybody Tell or make a mini tutorial on how to make a ship in 3dsM I know i'm not the only one thats stuck on this and it's great work your people out there are doing with mods and scripts and it's so fun to play the game with all these new ships and scripts but it would be fun to make your own personal ship and put it in the game and/or share them.
btw. i'm using 3dsm.6.0. win xp and all the tools like ra's bodwiever/ego's
exporter.and so on and i'm starting getting tired after trying in 2 month.

any comments (c.j, ra, earthpilot, shadowtech, just to name a few that's know how it's done :?

DeadlyDa
x4

Post by DeadlyDa » Tue, 26. Oct 04, 06:26

Ah...er...well, I'm no expert...but here is how I got the following ship up and flying in X2 as an M6 (about the same size as the Osprey):

[ external image ]

Disclaimer: I started out just using the text editor to build scene files using standard X2 parts from the "v" folder. The GFX modding stuff is pretty bleeding edge, and I have yet to get an answer to any of the questions I have asked...you just have to hack away at it, and analyse the resulting parts & scenes in a text editor...comparing them to the original bits from Ego (or working ships by other folk).